Personal Resilience Part 3: When Something Bad Happens, You Might Not be Able to Cope…

In my last post, I talked about a couple times where my resilience had failed me. I wanted to share some of my personal experience with you so that you can understand my experience with Personal Resilience.

The truth of it is that sometimes when bad things happen, you won’t be able to cope with it. For some people, that is a serious injury (or sometimes a not-so-serious injury) to a loved one. Sometimes it is something else. The breaking point is different for every person and every situation.

When thinking about your own personal resilience, you have to consider that no matter how resilient you are, you will likely encounter a circumstance that exceeds your ability to cope. Your resilience will fail you at some point.

It might sound like I’m being hard on myself or others but knowing that your personal resilience can fail you means that you can be better prepared.

Preparedness is a big part of emergency management, and one that many people don’t consider when making personal or family emergency plans. Having faced the failure of my resilience before means that I know I will likely face it again in the future.

My hope is that you will  also be better prepared simply by knowing that unless you are incredibly fortunate, your resilience will also fail you at some point.

2 thoughts on “Personal Resilience Part 3: When Something Bad Happens, You Might Not be Able to Cope…

  1. Pingback: Personal Resilience (Last) Part 4: What You can do About it… | Always Learning

  2. Pingback: Engaging Faith Communities in Emergency Management Functions | Always Learning

Leave a Reply

